Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Revolver newb: Internal lock on revolvers? Suggestions for first revolver?

Long story short, I am looking on getting my first revolver. I wanted to know if anyone knew which manufacturers have internal locks on their revolver models. I know about S&W so far. Is the internal lock a real issue?

Also, any brand/model recommendations or suggestions for a first wheelgun? I have been shooting religiously for over 10 years now but I won't pretend like I know anything besides the basics when it comes to revolvers. Thanks

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Revolver newb: Internal lock on revolvers? Suggestions for first revolver?

I'm guessing you want something for the range, not a carry weapon? SW 686 will do you right. Shoot .357 or .38s. You can remove the lock or buy a used one with no-lock. Not sure if they sell new ones without a lock or not.

Default Re: Revolver newb: Internal lock on revolvers? Suggestions for first revolver?

Quote Originally Posted by McSull View Post
    I'm guessing you want something for the range, not a carry weapon? SW 686 will do you right. Shoot .357 or .38s. You can remove the lock or buy a used one with no-lock. Not sure if they sell new ones without a lock or not.
    Range, occasional winter carry and for a hunting sidearm so something that I can beat on. Was thinking .357 as I already have a supply of .38spl to offload.

Quote Originally Posted by MovingtoAmerica View Post
    Range, occasional winter carry and for a hunting sidearm so something that I can beat on. Was thinking .357 as I already have a supply of .38spl to offload.
    Ruger GP100 4" barrel they are way over built and will take a forever diet of hot .357 magnum rounds.

(York County)

Some folks will laugh, but Taurus makes some nice wheel guns that are a good value and have internal locks. I prefer their model 66 in .38/.357 and a 4" barrel:

http://www.taurususa.com/product-det...rumbseries=MF2