Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Exclamation New to CC What shall I start out with?

Hello
    I recently purchased my Carry Conceal Permit, and I am new to all this. Now with a former police officer as a father our gun collection is fairly large. Most of the handguns are fairly bulky to carry concealed. So I would like to purchase a gun of my own. My price range is under $650. Nothing against Glock Owners I’m just not interested in a Glock, so we can nip that in the bud. I would appreciate a few opinions on the type of gun out there that would be good to carry for a beginner. Now don’t get me wrong I grew up shooting and know a thing or two on how to shoot, but never from a concealed holster. What is the best holster and easiest to conceal? What type of clothing is ideal without looking like I shop at the Salvation Army? Thank you for your time.

Adam
    ΑΣΦ

Glade Mill Lake, Cooperstown, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)

Default Re: New to CC What shall I start out with?

Welcome to the forum!

Asking what gun to buy wll get you a million different options. It's best to go to a shop with a good selection and fondle a bunch. But, if you want my thoughts....

I'll tell you what I like and why.

You don't like glocks. The springfeild armory XD sub-compact, and the Smith&wesson M&P sub-compact are two of my favorites because they are super reliable, and (at least for me) feel better in my hand than a glock.

If you want something really small, light and compact then Kahr makes some damn fine small automatics well within your price range. Only downside with them is reduced magazine capacity.