Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Unhappy It's raining powder

I'm relatively new to reloading 9 mm (about 1000 rounds), but now I'm ready to give the whole thing up. I went to the range Friday with my grandson who is 15 years old. I was happily shooting away when all of a sudden my CZ 75B jammed up, and that's a very rare occasion for this pistol.. The next thing I noticed was powder coming out of the air, some on me and some on the bench. I went to chamber another round which failed when my grandson said ''I can still see a bullet in the chamber''. Sure enough, the bullet was still in there. Remember, in a microsecond, the action went back and threw the brass out, spilled powder, and left the bullet in the chamber and tried to chamber another round. (At least that's what I think happened ) .. Does the primer have enough power to cycle the action? If so, why didn't the powder go off? I do a lot reading on this forum but can't say I've ever seen anything come close to this situation.
    PS when I got home and stripped this pistol to get the lead out, the lead had no rifling marks which leads me to believe it didn't even start down the barrel.
    Go easy on me fellows, I'm so confused now that I ready to give up Reloading forever.
    Signed-dazed and confused
    Last edited by joeyj; May 22nd, 2016 at 11:18 AM. Reason: To provide clarity

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: It's raining powder

My first thought is that you missed the crimping station on the round. Still, I wouldn't expect the bullet to fall out.
    Walk through the events again slowly.
    You say it jammed. What exactly do you mean by that?
    Did you rack the slide to clear an unfixed round and that is what flew apart?
    Was the primer shot on the round?

I am thinking that you missed the crimp. That wouldn't allow it to seat properly upon feeding, thus the jam.