Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Let's talk OC/Pepper spray....

OK, who here carries OC spray regularly (on-duty LEO's excluded, please)?

I often work in states that don't allow me to CC, so I got into the habit of carrying a Kimber "Guardian Angel" OC spray with me. In 5 years I haven't needed it, thank God.
    I'm fairly new to CC (about 3 years) and decided a while ago that my OC spray needed to be part of my routine "carry defense". The reasoning is that in most situations a perp will be stopped (or instantly slowed) with an OC shot in the face, thus allowing more time to escape or assess the need for lethal force.
    This forum has a LOT of knowledgable people and (usually!) offers good common sense advice, so I'd like to hear what you guys have to say about it.

(Lackawanna County)

Default Re: Let's talk OC/Pepper spray....

i carry OC, but i'm not a big believer in it. i carry it mainly because if it comes down to it, it shows a jury that i was willing to use less than lethal means to stop an attack, before i was forced to use deadly force.

i'm not a big believer in OC, because i've been sprayed before, a few times. the first time was a random thing; some cock juggler thought it would be funny to spray some into the air in a crowd. i got a mouthful, and it sucked, but i kept walking.

the next time was by NYPD, because i was "resisting"; i got a face full of spray, but they had to spray me 3 times, because i was still fighting.

the third time (you guys must think i'm nuts by now), i sprayed myself, by accident. it was a canister of sabre red, and it burned like hell. the 9th level, that is. though it took the fight out of me, i think if i was a man determined to kill someone, it wouldn't have stopped me.