Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Juvenile Mental Health Comittment

Hello all, I apologixe for the length of this post in advance, just want to establish some history.

I am currently a GA resident but lived in PA over a decade ago. When I was 17 I lived with my sister in Allegheny County. I chose to live with her due to issues at my home. My mom signed custody to her until I turned 18 less than 6 months later. I was with my sister for maybe a month and we were fighting non stop because of various things but mainly because I didn't want to finish HS. We had one final blow out and she kicked me out, Being new to the area and state as a whole I had no where to go. I called some people back home in NJ and was advised to call local PD. Upon calling and ID'ing myself, I was told there was a commitment order out on me. They came and picked me up and transported me to local psych facility. Upon admission, it was determined I had no mental health reasons to be there but since my sister refused to take me back, they couldn't discharge me. I remained there until I was placed in a shelter. I have since served in the military and deployed to Iraq. I completely forgot about this commitment until i tried to buy a handgun from an FFL and my NICS came back denied. Upon appealing I found it it was due to this commitment. I have spoken to the POC at PA state police and his ony advice is to file an appeal. Being that I live in GA now and don't have the money to hire an attorney I am hoping maybe there are other means to get this issue dealt with and restore my 2A rights.

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Juvenile Mental Health Comittment

I don't know if the "Juvenile" component has any relevance, but if you had a commitment in Pennsylvania, no matter how slight it seemed, you will never be allowed to own a firearm anywhere in the US until you are dead. And there is no appeal process and no pardons. No way out, ever.