Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default all created equally?

I constantly finding myself doing research on reliability of firearms. Maybe its because of my lack of understanding about the firearm manufacturing process. To my understanding everything are machined and molded. So why would one guy have a perfect shooting firearm yet another can't even get pass the first mag? I'm not tring to sound like a smart ass but I am curious.

Default Re: all created equally?

While I am not an engineer or machinist, I would be willing to bet that guns that A: are engineered better to begin with are superior, and B: guns that are made to strict tolerances are better. I don't mean that every 1911 needs to lock up tighter than all get out, but the manufacturing process is more strict, turning out a more consistant part.... Use a car analogy. Why can they grab several hundred more horse power and rev and F1 car to beyond fifteen thousand RPM's compared to the one you buy at your local dealer? Engineering and machining tolerances.
    Jules

(Philadelphia County)

Maybe I'm giving them to much credit but if you got a perfect well calculated proto the just mass produce them. I can't believe the engineers saying "thats good enough, let crank this out". Could it be that the mold gets warped after while?

(Chester County)

It's because there is variation in every process. There is no such thing as ZERO defects. Statistically, you can only approach zero but never reach it. There are just too many variables.