Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default New to Chester County from South Louisiana

Hello. I am recently moved to West Chester from South Louisiana. Back in LA there were really no gun clubs just open sheriff ranges or private land to shoot at. I am wondering if I could get some information on the area. I was a very active instructor back in LA. I have my NRA certs as a Chief Range Safety Officer, Instructor/Counselor in Rifle, Muzzleloading Rifle, Shotgun, Home Safety, Pistol, Inside and Outside the Home. I was also a Louisiana State conceal carry instructor (a mandatory class is required in LA for a CCW permit). I also was the shooting sports director for a few years at my local boy scout council.

I would very much like to get into a group where I can continue to shoot and teach. Any help would be appreciated. Thank y'all.

Stephen Johnston

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: New to Chester County from South Louisiana

Welcome to the forum, Steve. Where in Louisiana did you come from? I have outlaws in NO, St Charles, and St Tammany parishes so I have wandered into the state a couple of times. I can't help much with your question as it is not my home turf since the 1960's but I am sure someone will be along shortly.
    Last edited by gghbi; April 17th, 2016 at 07:23 PM.

(Chester County)

Thanks. I grew up in Morehouse but lived the last 6 years in Houma and worked in St. Charles.

(Chester County)

Steve, welcome to the Commonwealth and welcome to the zoo (pafoa.org).

There are plenty of local gun ranges, though I am not a member of any, others can fill you in on their favs. I am blessed to have private land to shoot on about 2 miles from my home. One of the places I'd recommend checking out is a brand new, as in not even open yet, range in Avondale, on ft. 41, just South of rt. 1. There is also Target master on rt. 202, just North of the DE stateline.

(Chester County)