Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Carrying Under 21 Question

Hi all, I am currently 19 years old. I am a PA resident, but I go to college in New York.

I have been reading up for a little while and learned about the PA laws and things for getting a handgun under the age of 21 but over 18. I have talked to my dad and he is willing to gift me a gun and I have talked to a local sheriff who said he would be willing to do the transfer if I were to do a private transaction. So I will be getting a handgun when I get backf from this semester of college.
    I was wondering if anyone knew about any laws in NY that might prohibit me from bringing a handgun with me to NY. I will have the handgun with me in a townhouse and not on a college property so I don't have to worry about their specifc rules. And will I still be able to open carry in NY (I don't really plan to, just curious)?

How would you recommend I carry/transport the handgun when driving from my house in PA to my townhouse in NY?
    Are there any specific things I should be aware of in general while having the handgun and being und?

A side note: I am really interested in a Glock, specifically the G30. What are your opinions on it? I like that it is a .45acp and it is small enough to conceal when I turn 18, but it is not too small for my hands. I have shot it before and was satisfied with it. I just have to narrow it down to what version of it that I want (assuming you guys don't convince me to get something else).

edit: if this belongs somewhere else, could a staff member please move it for me?
    Last edited by muffinman1604; April 14th, 2016 at 01:24 PM.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Carrying Under 21 Question

You will not be able to carry in New York under any circumstance. I believe you will also not be able to bring the gun to New York under any circumstance you mentioned (to keep at your townhome).