Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Trustee use of Gun (out of state)

I have my guns listed in my gun trust. Can one of the trustees of my gun trust who is out of state borrow (with my permission as I am the primary trustee) & maintain control of the guns listed in the trust? The guns are Title I (not NFA) guns. I am a PA resident & the trustee is an OH resident. We both have CCW permits, and thus are not 'prohibited persons'.

I presume that the trust "owns" the guns, so no transfer is taking place. Nonetheless, I want to make sure that this would not be somehow considered an 'interstate transfer'. And, as the guns in question are Title I, this should be a local issue to be answered by the Sheriff, or, is this really a federal issue to be answered by the ATF?

This is a gray area because unlike NFA weapons, Title I guns are not controlled by federal law. I am not trying to skirt the law, and want to stay 100% lega. I am debating sending the question to the local Sheriff & the ATF. Normally, I tend to err on the beg for forgiveness side, but I do not have the time or money to become a test case.

(Northampton County)

Default Re: Trustee use of Gun (out of state)

The sheriff will give you bad advice and the ATF will give you a new bad law.
    http://forum.pafoa.org/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=5230&dateline=1441069  448

(Lebanon County)

You have to be careful with Title I guns and trusts, because the definition of a person in the GCA does not recognize a trust as a person. So you can have regular firearms in a trust, but the trust doesn't "own" the guns.

(Westmoreland County)

What is "GCA"
    Quote Originally Posted by sawgunner73 View Post
    You have to be careful with Title I guns and trusts, because the definition of a person in the GCA does not recognize a trust as a person. So you can have regular firearms in a trust, but the trust doesn't "own" the guns.

Gun Control Act of 1968