Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lebanon County)

Default WILL THIS WORK ?? (pic)

With the weather soooo cold & snowy, I can't get out to give my thoughts a test. Something I have never done before and probably, everybody does it but me.

I have my lil' H&R with a rail to mount a scope. I am a scope switcher by nature, Why ?, No idea, I just do. All of my scopes work with medium rings on the H&R, regardless of the MM. I just can't use low mounts on the H&R. The bell hits or eye relief hits the hammer. Each scope has it's own set of medium rings. All Weaver. Yes they are junk (I hear), but for a zillion years that is all I have used. Even my low mounts. I had my first set of hi's last year, they now belong to my son. Never again !

Here are my thoughts. I will sight my .204 in with a 6-24X44 at 200 yards. I will sight my .204 in at 300 or maybe 350 yards with the 10-40X50.

I feel I am going to look stupid on this. Say I am set up with the 6-24 at 200 and want to go to the 10-40 at 350. I have not touched the rings after sighting in. I pop one off and pop the other right on and dose it WORK ? Then for one reason or another, one day I reverse them. Does it keep working ??? By working I mean not losing ZERO ! Is there a trap in there that will bite me ??------THIS PARAGRAPH IS THE MEAT OF THE ISSUE. Why I am doing this is none of your business !

Here is why STUPID may come into play. My rings were always rifle specific. If I changed scopes on a rifle, I put rings on bases, capped them off and re-sighted. I guess the reason is all of my rifles are drilled and tapped at different lengths. The H&R base and the two scopes match perfect for the 2 scopes. If you understand the above, you must have a PHD in The Genetic & Quantatative / Qualatative (neat words) Habits of a Fossil !

The video and Thanks, Fossil John
    Last edited by ImAfossil; February 14th, 2016 at 07:06 AM. Reason: correct
    Do the eyes go first ?????? MAYBE NOT !

(Butler County)