Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Hey! I'm new. Some newbie questions.

Hey guys. I'm only 17 but I saw no rules indicating age discrimination (Oh yes, I said it, DISCRIMINATION).

I, of course, can't carry in any form at my age yet, but I'm still learning as much as I possibly can.

I have some questions that may seem silly or obvious..

I was recently at the range, firing a 1911 .45 (As anything of weaker caliber would jeapordize my manliness), and decided I was going to fullmag + 1 the gun to see what it was like. When I fired, I actually felt the force of the round going into the chamber. That kind of worries me, as that would seem to imply that that must have been pretty intensive on the magazine's spring. Many people CARRY like that. Wouldn't the magazine spring wear out significantly quicker that way?

I imagine that it's dependant on the magazine, but how long does it generally take for a magazine's spring to wear out?

Thanks to this wonderful website and forum, I no longer have trouble finding out the laws for this state, thanks! However, I can't find anything concerning age-restrictions. When I ask people questions concerning firearm ownership, some say "18" some say "21" some say "18 for everything except handguns which are 21" and some say, "Oh my god why would you think about guns?! Are you some sort of terrorist?!". What age can I buy a handgun? What age can I buy a rifle (or shotgun, or otherwise long gun)? What age can I transport them to the range? What age can I apply for a LTCF? What age can I open carry?

I haven't heard the term LTCF before meeting this forum. What's the difference between a LTCF and a CCW?