Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Vortex spitfire 3x... Who has one?

I'm I've had 2 ar's both budget builds that I sold to buddies. I ordered a BCM 16" upper with a 15" kmr rail on it and I'm putting it on a spikes lower with a spikes enhanced lpk in it. Needless to say it's not a budget build. After I feel I can shoot accurately with the irons, I'll put an optic on it.

This will be a rifle that will go out to 200 yards max (just for fun), mostly under 75 yards, but will fill the role of a shtf gun.

Anyway does anyone have any first hand experience with this optic? Are there other optics that will suit my needs better? I'm not in a hurry to pick up an optic... Since I don't NEED it.

I've never used an Eotech, or aimpoint... Are they worth, in some cases, double the money?

Be easy, I'm a complete novice when it comes to red dots

Edit: here's a link from optics planet

http://www.opticsplanet.com/vortex-s...a-reticle.html

(Butler County)

Default Re: Vortex spitfire 3x... Who has one?

For that application, I'd recommend any aimpoint you want. ACO, PRO, T1/H1/T2/H2. The latter are probably overkill.

A red dot is going to have someone with good eyes shooting slightly better than irons, but you will be immensely faster.

Some people will tell you that the Primary Arms and Vortex red dots are okay. I believe in buy once, cry once.

Based on the recent kerfuffle, I'd steer clear of EOtech.

(Chester County)

Complete novice also but I have it and love it! Looked like the best optic for a low price so far results have been good! if you have any specific questions let know. also if you want to check it out i'm not that far away, also also dvor usually has a good deal on them(with credit back) if you're not in a rush.

Mitch

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by pyld View Post
    For that application, I'd recommend any aimpoint you want. ACO, PRO, T1/H1/T2/H2. The latter are probably overkill.