Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lehigh County)

Default Selling a handgun to resident in another state - do you have to ship via FFL?

Just curious before I do so - If I sell a handgun online to a resident of another state - do I have to ship it via a local FFL?

Or can I go to my local post office, fedex, or UPS and have them ship it?

What are the laws that pertain to this? (I'm a PA resident, buyer is not).

Just want to make sure I'm following the correct procedure before doing this.

(Chester County)

Default Re: Selling a handgun to resident in another state - do you have to ship via FFL?

Quote Originally Posted by Wayfaerer320 View Post
    Just curious before I do so - If I sell a handgun online to a resident of another state - do I have to ship it via a local FFL?

Or can I go to my local post office, fedex, or UPS and have them ship it?

What are the laws that pertain to this? (I'm a PA resident, buyer is not).

Just want to make sure I'm following the correct procedure before doing this.
    Only FFLs can ship handguns via USPS.

As to UPS and FedEX there is no law but their individual tariffs do allow private shipments as long as there an FFL is either the shipper or receiver.

Not aware of any Pa laws that would prohibit your shipment to buyer's FFL.
    IANAL

(Berks County)

Default Re: Selling a handgun to resident in another state - do you have to ship via FFL?

Quote Originally Posted by tl_3237 View Post

As to UPS and FedEX there is no law but their individual tariffs do allow private shipments as long as there an FFL is either the shipper or receiver.

One detail is that if using UPS, you must go to a 'hub', or actual UPS location. The UPS stores will not ship firearms. Depending upon insurance and destination, it may be just as economical to have a local FFL ship it through the USPS. The shipping is cheaper, but the FFL will likely charge you around $25. Check out both options.

(Delaware County)