Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Ar pistol concealed in truck

Hi guys, I have an ar pistol lower that I built and had a question I need clarity on based on a few different answers from searching different threads. If I put an 11.5" barrel on my pistol lower, I believe it would put me over 26" oal. Does this then make it illegal to have loaded with me in my vehicle? Will I need to do a 10.5" barrel to keep it under 26" then making it legal to carry with my in my vehicle? I am a PA resident with a carry permit.
    Thanks

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Ar pistol concealed in truck

The experts will be along with the details. In the mean time, if the AR qualifies as a "pistol" you can carry it loaded in your car with your LTCF. It can be over 26" and still be considered a pistol. Just don't ever put a stock on it with a barrel less than 16".
    Toujours prêt

Ok thanks, what does the 26" oal thing have to do with then?

(Dauphin County)

Quote Originally Posted by Hawk View Post
    The experts will be along with the details. In the mean time, if the AR qualifies as a "pistol" you can carry it loaded in your car with your LTCF. It can be over 26" and still be considered a pistol. Just don't ever put a stock on it with a barrel less than 16".
    What are you basing that on? That's not how I read the statutes.

§ 6106.1. Carrying loaded weapons other than firearms.