Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Delaware County)

Talking Looking for a hunting mentor in SEPA

Hello,

I am a lifelong resident of SEPA. I have only hunted doves a couple of times in my teens and that is about it. I am currently a 40 yr old father of two and would like to deer hunt this season. I was hoping to hook up with some folks while taking a refresher hunter safety course, but almost all of the attendees are kids, most of them Amish. I would need nothing but some guidance in where and how to hunt and all of the good things one would want to pass on to a new hunter. If anyone is looking for another hunter to join a camp or lease, I would be interested. I appreciate any and all help.

Steve

Default Re: Looking for a hunting mentor in SEPA

Steve,

I typically only archery hunt in 5C. I do my rifle hunting in Perry Co as I do not hunt with a shotgun in 5c. I'm no expert, but I'll be more than happy to talk to you by PM or phone. Send me a PM if you want to chit chat.

(Delaware County)

I am looking to try and hunt anywhere. My happiest and most peaceful times in life were when I was out in the woods and/or in the middle of a stream. Marriage and kids have put the crimp on golf and fishing. I purchased doe tags for 5C and 5D because of their proximity. From what I have learned in conversation and after retaking the hunter safety course, it is more about finding a place to hunt legally. The fun of actually seeing, shooting, field dressing a deer may never happen. Living most of my life in Delaware County and not coming from a hunting family has me on the outside looking in. Anyone who hunts around here bow hunts and from what I've seen out with my dogs they put stands anywhere they can. The guys I know who bow hunt no longer rifle hunt. They find their little spot locally and bow hunt.I appreciate the response and hope to talk soon. Thank you.