Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Clinton County)

Default My old service guns

In 27 years as a cop I've had a number of issued service revolvers and one pistol, My firsr service revolver was issued by MPDC it was a S&W M&P skinny bbl 4inch with a round butt my class in the adadmey had 45 guys i came in 2nd on the pistol range by 1 point,oh well,but I really liked that gun.

When I switched to Camden,NJ PD I was at first issued a Colt Police Positive, it was very light and nice to carry but Colt triggers from the factory were never as smooth as S&W.

After that I was given a S&W 4in heavy bbl M-10,I was in the prime of life and could really shoot that gun, off duty I used to go out to gravel pits and shoot at 5 gallon buckets at 100yds and a 55 gallon drum at 150 and could go through several cylenders full at those distances w/o a miss, I had the front sight marked for the distances for elevation.

My last service gun was a Ruger p-85, I hated it, the trigger guard came into the grip at a steep downward angle and felt lousey the da trigger stunk and the single action had a lot of take up I really hated it, in Camden's academy I won the trophy for highest avarege and though most guys shot better with the p-85 I shot worse and was only a little better than avarage till retirement and could give that clunker back to the city.Guess I was used to better grips and triggers.

Now I have a Browning MK what ever but like it for winter carry and a Kahar p-9 covert for warmer weather, I can tear target up with the Browning and am pretty good with the Kahar. When I turned 55 I needed glasses and guess my show off days are over. I still have my off duty gun, S&W 3 inch Chief's Special I still like it but like nite sights so seldom carry it now.

Oh well, just an old fart remincing. Been retired 13 years now and as usual am forgetting the bad and remembering the good.

(Monroe County)

Default Re: My old service guns