Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default How long does it take to chop a barrel?!

Hey guys, I'm new to the Pittsburgh area and found a shop on FB. I've been following them since before I moved and thought they'd be a cool shop. I took my AK in about a month ago to have the barrel chopped and a Saker FH permanently attached. I called a couple times the days before I actually got to talk to the gunsmith, he was either gone for the day or going to pick up parts. At one point, they said something about the hospital. I didn't think much of it, called back again the next day. When I finally spoke to the gunsmith, he told me it'd cost about $75 and that they charge $45 an hour, which is the cheapest in town. When I took it in, the worker told me that they don't even think about threading a barrel for less than $100. They told me that the gunsmith would call me to verify the price, but he wasn't in at the moment. I waited a week before I called to ask what was going on and the girl that answered the phone told me he had been away from work for a few days. The next week, the gunsmith finally called me back and told me it would be about $100-$150. It would have cost me that much if I sent it off, so whatever. I'd like to know who told me $75 and why, but... It is what it is. Well I told him to go ahead and do the work because I just wanted it done and the tools to do it at home would cost me $250 or more. He told me it would be about a week because he was going on vacation. Well, it's been two weeks since he called and I gave him the go ahead. Still no word, still no gun. I emailed the shop a message from SilencerCo for indexing the FH on the muzzle (won't be much of a shoulder) and never got a response from that either.