Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: choke questions

(Lancaster County)

Default choke questions

Im new to this interchagable choke thing. I bought a Moss 835 that came with a Turkey choke. Thats the easy one. I want to be able to shoot other loads as well, IE, buckshot. What choke do i need for that? I did some research on the level of constriction and purchased a Skeet choke, the package says steel or lead. Would this be OK for the Buck shot or should i continue to look for a straight "cylinder" choke? Also the barrel on this is only 24", is skeet/trap even posible with this or should I also look for a 28" barrel? If the 24 is OK which load would you recomend? Or just get another gun for Clay birds?
    Thanks
    Sit down! You'll never clear leather.

(Chester County)

Default Re: choke questions

Check out the link, pretty informative:

http://www.briley.com/understandings...nbybriley.aspx

Chokes are used simply to constrict the shot pattern; the Cylinder choke matches the bore of the barrel; it is your widest standard choke as it doesn't actually "choke" anything.

For clays and hunting, I typically used a modified choke. It gives a nice balance of range and pattern constriction. For skeet, the obvious choice is the skeet choke. For trap, the distances may be a bit longer unless you jump the clay right after leaving the clay house. I'd use a modified for trap. For sporting clays, I use a modified as well.

For home defense, I'd use a cylinder choke. You want as wide of a spread as possible when you're shooting at such close ranges. Typically, that's your best choice. Now, if you have a mansion with 100 foot hallways, then maybe you'll want something tighter.

As for barrel length, 24" is on the shorter side for a "target" gun. However, I've seen a gentleman shoot trap with a Saiga 12g and not miss a single one. You will be at a natural disadvantage, but you will most likely not notice it unless you shoot a lot.