Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default NY resident selling pistol to PA FFL?

New guy here. A little backstory before my question: I was living down south in free America for a few years, of course bought some guns here and there, and then moved back to NY (yeah, crazy, I know). NYS requires a permit to even own/possess a pistol. Being that I didnt (and still dont) have one, I left my pistols and a few guns that are not NYS compliant, with a friend in PA, until I moved back out of NY. Thats not looking like its gonna happen anytime soon, so here I am.

Can I, a New Yorker with no NY pistol permit, drive to PA to my friends house, pick up the pistol(s) I want to sell, drive to a PA FFL and sell him my pistols? Or would I need to have a NY permit, since Im a NY resident and would be giving my NY drivers license as ID?

Id love to hear info from everyone, but specifically any PA FFLs if there are any here, so I can be sure that everything is legal.

(Beaver County)

Default Re: NY resident selling pistol to PA FFL?

I will start out with saying I am not an FFL. This is just from personal experience. I spent 3 years living at Drum. At one point I made a deal to sell a bolt action to a gentleman in VA. As I was already planning on coming down to PA at the time I told him I could meet him at his FFL for the transfer instead of however long it would take UPS to deliver it. Spoke with his FFL the next day to make sure everything was going to be good. I was asked if I still had my PA DL as I was active duty or if I had switched to a NY DL. He flat out told me if I had had a NY DL he would not touch the transfer in person because of NYS laws and that was on a bolt gun.