Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Local Gun Shop Question?

Hi All,

I am new to the forum and I am also new to buying/collecting firearms. I have spent 4 years in the Army and have hunted since I was 12 so I have a fair bit of knowledge of long guns and Army issued weapons but I've never bought my own firearm. I am also about to apply for my LTCF.

I live in Montgomery County and I was wondering what the best gun shop would be, as far selection AND customer service, for doing a complete ground up AR-15 build. Especially stripped lower selection. I want this store to have what I want so I can see/feel it and not have it ordered online.

If my thinking is off please let me know!

Thanks

(Fayette County)

Default Re: Local Gun Shop Question?

I can't help with local stores in Montgomery County as I'm not from there but if your looking to build an AR15, chances are your better off just ordering the parts online.

The only part you need to go through a dealer for is the lower reciever. Even if you can't find a local shop that sells them, you can order one online and have it shipped there for the transfer.

Check places like midwayusa.com or brownells.com and wait for the sales and you can order a part or two here and there. I waited till this past black friday and ordered most of the parts I needed to build my rifle and saved a few hundred dollars.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by jgalen0025 View Post
    Hi All,

I am new to the forum and I am also new to buying/collecting firearms. I have spent 4 years in the Army and have hunted since I was 12 so I have a fair bit of knowledge of long guns and Army issued weapons but I've never bought my own firearm. I am also about to apply for my LTCF.