Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Wayne County)

Default Would this be considered legally open carrying?

I'm a part time PA resident. I own a home with 2.5 acres of land in PA, however, I have a NY driver license with a NYC address on it. I don't have a LTCF permit. I know I can't open carry in a car or on anything mobile. I heard a lot of stories where LEO asks for the ID of someone open carrying. In this case I'd have to show him/her my NY license. Would it be legal for me to open carry a loaded handgun on land that I own? What about in public on foot?

(Dauphin County)

Default Re: Would this be considered legally open carrying?

Quote Originally Posted by Will3212 View Post
    I'm a part time PA resident. I own a home with 2.5 acres of land in PA, however, I have a NY driver license with a NYC address on it. I don't have a LTCF permit. I know I can't open carry in a car or on anything mobile. I heard a lot of stories where LEO asks for the ID of someone open carrying. In this case I'd have to show him/her my NY license. Would it be legal for me to open carry a loaded handgun on land that I own? What about in public on foot?
    On foot, not in Philadelphia, not during a declared state of emergency, you may openly carry a firearm.

Your problem is how you get the firearm to and from the place you want to carry. Without a license to carry firearms or other state's permit you can't even have an unloaded and cased firearm (handgun or SBR or SBS) in a vehicle unless you meet one of the exceptions under 18 Pa.C.S. § 6106(b). (The most common exceptions would be traveling between home and the range or a gun store or gunsmith.)

Contrary to popular belief you can't just toss an unloaded firearm in the trunk, drive into town, retrieve the firearm and openly carry it.