Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default *UPDATED RANGE REPORT*Question for SA revolver folks

*see post #13 for my updated range report.

I recently acquired a Ruger Super Blackhawk Talo (3.75 inch barrel), and this is my first SA revolver ever.

I took it to the range yesterday for the first time, and it functioned perfectly. Put about a dozen 44 spl. through it, and about 2 dozen .44 magnums through it. All were of the 240 gr. weight.

Since this is my first time with a SA revolver, I wonder if the gun itself is 'off', or if I just need more practice with this platform. I've attached two targets: the first one has 6 rounds of 44 spl. and 6 of the 44 mags. Notice how the magnums are all to the left, and the specials (I've circled them) are grouped decently. All were done @ ~8 yards.

For reference, I've attached a target of my most accurate gun I own, a S&W hand ejector .38 spl. 12 shots at ~8 yards, all done from double action.

I do notice that on the Ruger SBH, the front site is SLIGHTLY canted to the right (when I look down the sights), but this is pretty minimal. I noticed that the rear sights are drifted to right several clicks.

Do I just need more practice with the single action? Or is there a possibilty that the gun itself is 'off'?

Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by American1776; December 18th, 2014 at 02:03 PM. Reason: updated

Default Re: Question for SA revolver folks

Anticipating the recoil perhaps?

Different loads will almost always print to a different point of aim. Even the same load from the same maker , but from a different lot. Especially in big bore revolvers. Just how much can vary from a little bit to a good bit.

Getting comfortable with the relatively mild recoil of .44 Special loads , and then shooting some harder kicking magnums can certainly open up groups too.
    I don't speak English , I talk American!

Quote Originally Posted by abner13 View Post