Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default first cowboy gun

For a long time I've had an itch to get a single action revolver in a serious caliber. After a lot of back and forth, I decided on the Ruger Super Blackhawk TALO special with the 3.75 inch barrel. This will be a carry piece.

I found one in pristine condition at a LSG for a good price and decided to close the deal. It's hefty (44 oz), but not too long, and the short plow-grip seems to carry well. It fits in an N-Frame holster, and with a shirt over the gun, it'll disappear just fine.

This is my first Single Action Revolver, so I'm new to this platform. Anyone else have one of these little beasts? I have a feeling this will jump around quite a bit with the heavy Buffalo Bore 300 gr. .44 mags I have, but it will also make .44 spl. feel like a plinker.
    Attached Images Attached Images

(Bucks County)

Default Re: first cowboy gun

It's like a pretty girl. She looks great, and you need to hold on tight.

Good luck. That's a nice looking gun. Let us know how it shoots for you.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill67 View Post
    It's like a pretty girl. She looks great, and you need to hold on tight.

Good luck. That's a nice looking gun. Let us know how it shoots for you.
    Thanks. She is a beauty. Those wood grips look REALLY nice up close. Ruger seems to have gotten right with this one.

I had a Ruger Alaskan, and that tamed the heavy .44 mag stuff pretty well--I wonder if the Single Action ergonomics will be a lot different.

(Montgomery County)

Nice! Love the un-fluted cylinder.

Does this have a transfer bar or are you carrying hammer down on empty chamber?

Quote Originally Posted by jthrelf View Post
    Nice! Love the un-fluted cylinder.

Does this have a transfer bar or are you carrying hammer down on empty chamber?
    It has the transfer bar, so it can be safely carried with 6.

From what I understand, these are limited runs with the 3.75'' barrel.