Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lancaster County)

Default General load/choke question

Please excuse my ignorance I am new to shotguns.
    I have had a double 410 for 30 years that I used for small game but recently purchased a mossburg 835 with a turkey choke. What can I shoot through it other than turkey loads? I have been looking at other chokes and see some say lead no brass,etc. I want to stock up on self defense loads and specialty loads. I have also been checking out 28" barrels. Do I need to get a dedicated self defense shotgun or can this be a every thing gun? Thanks
    Sit down! You'll never clear leather.

Default Re: General load/choke question

You can use it for anything you want to, but you might want to change chokes. Most turkey chokes are full (F) or full/full (FF) and that makes them a bit tight for most shooting. True, most chokes are lead only and others are for steel. If a barrel fits your 835 you can use it.
    20 years USN - OSC

(Lycoming County)

On the 835 turkey gun I have the choke is extra full (full/full). It is designed for keeping patterns really tight at extended range. If I remember correctly the manual states to not shoot slugs with this choke installed as it can damage the choke. Any other shot loads should be fine IMO.