Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Bucks County)

Default 308 ballistics coefficient--custom dial from leupold

Hey all,

Bought an ar10 and want leupold to make a custom dial for my ar scope. I am new to the 308 round, but I believe I want a 150g fmj to be used. I need to tell leupold weight, coefficient, muzzle velocity, etc. Can anyone give me any info on this? What is a typical or standard round for ar10

(Washington County)

Default Re: 308 ballistics coefficient--custom dial from leupold

There is no general BC because every makers' bullet will have a different BC for a bullet of the same weight and caliber. You need to standardize on one bullet from one maker to be able to supply a BC.

(York County)

You may be worried about something that is not the problem that it's made out to be. I know ballistic charts are what they are, and you're not going to cheat physics, but I have an M1A that came with a ranging scope calibrated for 168gr. match load (2500fps ish?). I took it to a range with a friend who is schooled on things "sniper" much more than me, and I was able to ring steel plates (10"x14"?) out to 700 yards with a variety of loads, most of which were M80 ball of various mfg, 146 gr-168gr, just by using the scope ranging brackets.

Granted, this is not groundhog accuracy, but almost. If you need to narrow it down closer than this, you'll need to sharpen your pencil, and your rifleman skills. I was lucky to have a still day and someone with knowledge, but I didn't miss even one plate all afternoon. YMMV. Congrats on the AR10. I'm officially jealous. Full range report required later!

BTW, guns with walnut shoot better. Jus sayin' ; )

(Bucks County)