Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default AA Heavy target load

Howdy

I'm new to trap shooting (only 1 year experience, but definitely on my way to my second thousand shells). I wouldn't say that I suck at it but I am hovering around a 30/50 average. I read up on technique and I'm slowly getting better- fighting years of rifle experience and trying to become a shotgunner.

Anyway, here's my question- can a heavy load be a decent advantage? I buy shells by the case, usually 7.5 or 8 or whatever's in stock. As you all know sometimes it's hard to find what you/your gun likes.

My best scores 40+/50 were all when I had a case of AA heavy target load. I ran out and started shooting Rio, Win light target, and some estate and now I feel like I'm fighting to avg. in the mid 30s/50. 5/5 at a station is rare these days Is this a coincidence or do I need to pattern my gun every time I switch? Im not shooting handicap so it shouldn't matter but I know I struggle to walk the line between getting on the birds faster and being comfortable with my swing and trigger. Maybe I am waiting too long to shoot and at longer range the advantage of more faster pellets shows up bigtime?

What say you innanet?

Ps I just got three cases of estate because it was $65 instead of $70+ so hopefully I can at least be consistant for ten or fifteen games depending if my sister comes and shoots up my shells

Default Re: AA Heavy target load

Well I shot 46/50 and 40/50 tonite so maybe I was just psyching myself out or maybe Rio just sucks in my gun

(Chester County)

Your best bet is to video yourself while shooting and watch later to see where you are having problems with your mounting and swing. Before all these phone cameras you had to pay a pro to watch and teach you technique. It couldn't hurt to have a pro look at the video and see what your doing and offer advice to correct. Golfers do the same thing.