Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Default Florida resident w/ CWP. Any reason to get PA non-resident permit?

Having recently relocated to Florida from Pennsylvania, and having acquired a resident concealed weapon permit there, is there any reason or benefit to get a non-resident Pennsylvania permit?

And if yes, does the PA non-resident application process have to be completed in person, or can it be done remotely?

I have a PA resident permit from when I was a resident there, but given that I no longer am, I suspect it's invalid or would be revoked should my new address be discovered.

Unrelated, but curious question: If a license would be revoked for the reason of relocating out of state, would there be a record of it in the system, negative or otherwise?

Also curious if someone can have a resident and non-resident permit within the same state, or if that would only be possible through a glitch in the system.

Curiosity aside, I am most interested in answers to the earlier questions; specifically whether a PA non-resident permit is recommended when one already has a Florida resident permit.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Florida resident w/ CWP. Any reason to get PA non-resident permit?

So far as I know, your PA LTCF is still valid. Since you have a CCW from FL, that means, as a FL resident, you fulfill the requirements to have a non-resident PA license. I would think that you should notify the sheriff where you got the PA license of your new address so that he can send you any re-up notifications. Your current PA license should not be revoked.

The advantage of having the PA license is that you would not be subject to the 1000' GFSZ in PA and possibly be less likely to get hassled if you visit here down the pike.
    Last edited by Kurt_D; August 29th, 2014 at 12:35 PM.