Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Chester County)

Default Defense against knife attack while carrying .

Just wondering how many out there have practiced drawing from concealment while being attacked with a knife(or impact weapon)?It was a real eye opener when i started doing this in Krav class and realized that even though i've been shooting and competing for 20 years with a hand gun ,there is no way i could draw from concealment and place shots on a opponent 5-15 feet away running at you with out being stabbed multiple times.The drill was to demonstrate the need to hone our unarmed knife defenses and control the knife before drawing and ending it with a shot to the head.You may kill your attacker going for your gun first but you'll probably bleed out from multiple stab wounds,not a win in my book.Any one else been working on this?
    Last edited by sprint51; August 14th, 2014 at 09:36 AM.

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: Defense against knife attack while carrying .

I've practiced unarmed self defense long before I ever thought of carrying a gun. A lot of people (including far too many gun owners) think their gun is a trump card; simply put, it isn't in quite a few situations.

If someone pulls a knife and is that close to me, I'm not reaching for my gun at all. Both of my hands are going to control that knife hand to try and take the weapon away from the attacker.

I've had knives pulled on me in two situations where I would have been stabbed if I took any time to reach for a gun or my own knife. I strongly recommend taking good self defense classes before taking any gun fighting classes. Color me wrong, but knowing how to defend myself without a gun has saved my bacon quite a few times.

(Bucks County)

Ive watched a bunch of videos from a good dude, Mike Janich.....

check him out, excellent material

(Berks County)