Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Lehigh County)

Default Ruger LC 9 Chamber Question

Having just been introduced to firearms and recently purchased a Ruger LCP CTC with Laserguard, I was treated so fantastically by Ruger that I decided to buy another firearm that would also be small but would have some safety features since I'm very new at this. I haven't wasted time-that's for sure.

Anyway, I bought a Ruger LC 9 with CTC Laserguard and I had a few sticky moments of the slide not chambering perfectly after inserting a magazine. A few times, after retracting the slide and moving it forward, a bullet would just pop out of the slide onto the floor or there would be a jam where the chamber indicator wouldn't indicate anything in the chamber. I had some successful chambers and thought it had more to do with swiftly sending the slide back and forth but then a few setbacks occurred again. Finally, I took a break, loaded up all three magazines several times and went through about sixty chamber attempts - all of which were perfect. I don't believe it had as much to do with the force of the slide "send-off" as the smoothness of my movement. Now I'm batting 100. Any feedback would be appreciated. Will I encounter jamming when I go to the range next weekend? My ammo is decent quality. Thanks.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Ruger LC 9 Chamber Question

I have a LC9 and have had no issues. Not sure what was going on with yours.

(Lehigh County)

Hmmm...also a few times the slide stopped about 1/16" short and had to be "wiggled" to seat the bullet so that the chamber indicator would lift up. Like I said, the last sixty or so attempts were all perfect.

(Washington County)

Are you riding the slide? Does it also do it when you release the slide using the slide lock?
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

(Lehigh County)