Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Allegheny County)

Default Small Game near Pittsburgh

Hello All,

I have been hunting for almost 6 years now. The thing is, that I have always used by wife's Uncle's camp as my base of operations. The camp is located in Tionesta, PA and I am living in Pittsburgh... 4 months ago, my first child was born, and so for this year I doubt I will be able to travel to hunt as much as I would like to.

This has led me to consider some more local places that I can sneak out to for a day or morning without spending the night or taking a 2 hour drive each way... So far I have my sights set on the SGL 203 up in Wexford. What I am looking for is any advice about 203 for the small game season.

I have frequented the rifle and pistol ranges for the past couple of years so am familiar with the area, but have yet to take a walk through the woods out there and see whats up. This weekend I am thinking of taking the dog out for a walk to scout. Is it worth the time and effort? Looking primarily for squirrel and rabbits, maybe some grouse? If i see a pheasant I will shoot at it, but not specifically looking for them.

Is the game land crowded for small game? I know last year I saw a few people trekking up around the rifle range. Using Google maps i was able to see that there are a few fields up back there I would be interested in...

While on Google I noticed the size of the game land, not that big. Has anyone hunted with a .22 out there? Did you worry about missing shots and landing lead on a roadway or residential lot? I would prob be sticking to a shotgun anyway, but just in case I feel the need to snipe the squirrels...

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Small Game near Pittsburgh

I can't speak to 203 but 117 out on route 22 west is very large and doesn't see a lot of small game season hunting pressure.
    The Lord Bless You

(Lehigh County)