Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default 1911 or custom knife

Hey Guys,

So I completely blew my gun budget this year already with some very high end custom 1911s. Recently I have started to collect high end custom knives like Shirogorov's, RJ Martins and Direwares. I didn't realize that these knives could cost more than my Wilson Combats, Ed Browns and Nighthawks. So here is the question. I wanted to add a Guncrafter Frag model to my collection which is around $3800 and 1 year wait. I also have been talking to Stan Wilson for a custom knife that is around $3500. I can only get one for the remainder of the year. Am I crazy for not ordering a Guncrafter and ordering the knife instead? I need to make up my mind soon and was hoping for some opinions. I'm new to the knife game but its quickly overtaking my gun collection.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: 1911 or custom knife

Mike,,,,, I'm sure you know of George at http://www.migunslingers.com/ He has a layaway plan that can make it really dangerous,,,,,, but very convenient. I have a No Name with a threaded barrel from him. I hate to go to his inventory tab,,,, as he ALWAYS has something there that I NEED.

The NN shoots extremely well. It does have a couple of minor issues that have nothing to do with it's performance. Once I get my Pro back from Springfield I'll talk to Alex and send it back.

Knife,,,,,,, ppppffffftttttt. 1911 from GI,,,, OH yeah.
    George,
    So many guns, so little money.

(Chester County)

Knife making is at a high right now, there are A LOT of people stock removing blanks into some pretty neat looking knives...

More importantly, there are a good amount of actual Bladesmiths out there...Hand forging and shaping some amazing stuff at a fraction of your budget. Personally (perhaps biasedly), Bladesmithing is truly the start to finish one of a kind, handcrafted blade! That's where you should be looking.