Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Conceal carry at work place

Ive read through some threads on conceal carrying at a work place and I just want to clarify what I read was not misunderstood.

I work as a computer technician at a private owned business. The owner own 3 small business and I am shifted between those 3 stores from time to time. My question is if I have a permit to conceal carry on his property with or without his permission. He does not have any signs posted but I would be able to ask him if I could conceal carry. I just want to know if I'm legally able to conceal carry while on the clock at work.

(Delaware County)

Default Re: Conceal carry at work place

It's private property and you would need to have permission. For example, my employer states I cannot have a firearm at work, in a work vehicle or even in my own vehicle on work property. Any violation is grounds for termination. Of course my main office is located on school grounds so I couldn't carry even if my employer allowed it.

(Philadelphia County)

thanks for the response 90volts. I am sure my employer would not mind. Hes in the army and is really cool. Would this be the same if I want to open carry at the work place and have his permission? I'm assuming yes.

(Delaware County)

His property, his choice.

(Mercer County)

Your LTCF doesn't give you free range to carry wherever you want.

Is there anything about weapons in your contract or employee handbook? Has your boss ever communicated to you or anyone else that no guns are allowed on the property? If no, I'd go with "don't ask, don't tell" personally. That's just me, though. You need to weigh the risk vs the reward. It's a highly personal decision.

If there is a policy, you will be terminated on the spot.
    There's no such thing as a free lunch.

(Philadelphia County)