Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default NJ long gun transfer

I am a PA resident and want to give a Rem 870 wingmaster to my nephew who is a NJ resident. Does anyone know how I should go about this? I know there is a very rigid procedure for handguns. Are long guns handled the same way? Thanks for any help on this.

Bob D

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: NJ long gun transfer

It must go through an FFL. That FFL can be in any state since it is a long gun.

And I'm thinking your nephew will need some sort of FID card.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Delaware County)

Knight, thanks for the quick reply. If I'm reading you right, he could come to PA, have it transferred to him by a PA FFL and then bring it back to NJ. Yes? He just got approval from his local PD to purchase two handguns and that will happen soon. What exactly is the "FID" card?

(Northampton County)

Quote Originally Posted by bug View Post
    Knight, thanks for the quick reply. If I'm reading you right, he could come to PA, have it transferred to him by a PA FFL and then bring it back to NJ. Yes? He just got approval from his local PD to purchase two handguns and that will happen soon. What exactly is the "FID" card?
    In NJ there are pistol purchase licenses, each of which is good to buy one pistol, and there is a Firearms Purchaser's ID or something (FID?) that allows you to buy longguns and pistol ammo.

He needs the FID. The pistol licenses won't help. Most people don't get the pistol license (especially 2) without already having or getting the FID, but it is his choice to get the FID or not so it is possible.