Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Sig P229 vs. Walther P99 AS

Gents,

I had posted before about the Walther and now I am down to decision making time.

I have done a ton of research and it comes down to these two firearms. I have freinds that are telling me that the Sig is a much better, more reliable firearm, but my heart and hand are leaning toward the Walther. I have handled both guns but have not shot either.
    (read the Walther P99 review on this site, excellent!)

Any thoughts, suggestions, impressions, or opinions would be most appreciated.

Leon

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Sig P229 vs. Walther P99 AS

Welcome to PAFOA!

Before you buy either one, go to a range that rents them and see which one you shoot and fits you better.
    Guns are not "one size fits all" and it would be ashame to put out all of that $$ on a gun that doesn't "fit" you well.

I've got lots of experience with Sigs and have 2 P229s. They are excellent well made guns that will serve you just fine.
    I've never shot or fondled a Walther, but I've read that they are good guns.

Good luck with your choice!
    Last edited by 1blindref; June 11th, 2008 at 05:17 PM.

Bye for a while, guard the fort. - My Dad

(Chester County)

Quote Originally Posted by Leoncico054 View Post
    Gents,

I had posted before about the Walther and now I am down to decision making time.

I have done a ton of research and it comes down to these two firearms. I have freinds that are telling me that the Sig is a much better, more reliable firearm, but my heart and hand are leaning toward the Walther. I have handled both guns but have not shot either.
    (read the Walther P99 review on this site, excellent!)

Any thoughts, suggestions, impressions, or opinions would be most appreciated.

Leon