Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default thinkin about movin to PA

ok, I have been thinking about moving to the Pittsburgh area for a while now, and I'm getting to where i only have about a year left on my college degree...

I'm originally from Orlando, FL... but moved out of that area to central NC about 2 years ago because of rising house prices and a good job offer...

i already have several online friends in the Pittsburgh area, so its not like i would be around total strangers... plus my wife was born in Whitehall Township, though she moved when she was 5 so she doesn't remember much...

I am actually considering several places to move, the Pittsburgh area, the Knoxville TN area, or the San Antonio TX area...

I have three kids, all younger than 10, and am training them properly in firearms safety and use...

I am in the IT field and my degree is in computer programming/engineering...

I am a NRA certified pistol instructor and would love to be able to actually put that to some use, all of the ranges around here are 40-50 miles away, so that makes it hard to do shooting classes...

I am also an adamant supporter of 2a rights... because of this, I am growing weary of the political climate down here in NC that makes it incredibly tough to get anything done... sadly there is still a lot of the good old boy network in place... I am currently on my second month of waiting on an appointment to apply for my CCH permit... once i do that next Wednesday, it will be another 90 days before I can get it... and im sorry but 5 months seems way too long...

so, my question becomes, why should I choose PA over TN or TX?... all three have about the same gun laws... but I'm not just looking for gun related information...

also, I will be coming to Pittsburgh the weekend after July 4th, so I suppose I need a brief on the gun laws ill need to know... I do not have a CCH permit yet from any state, so concealed is out...