Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Schuylkill County)

Default Laws regarding being gifted a handgun?

I read through all the threads regarding handguns being given as a gift on her but am still confused. My father grew up in Minersville and his dad was the mayor for some time but he has lived in Texas for 20 years now. I'm a resident and taxpayer in Pennsylvania. I know an interstate firearm gift must go thru an ffl, but if my dad buys it in texas, then brings it up here and we go to an for together, can I still receive it as a gift? I'm only 19 and I'm not sure if the ffl can do that. Maybe if he has the gun shipped to my local ffl from where he buys it then transfers it to his name here then can he legally gift it to me? Thanks for the help guys!

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Laws regarding being gifted a handgun?

If you father legitimately buys the gun as a gift, he wont be violating any laws.

For him to transfer it to you it must go through an FFL in your home state because of there being an interstate transfer of a handgun.

HOWEVER, since you are not 21yo a FFL cannot legally transfer a handgun to you.

So, for him to give you the gun, and abide by all laws you must wait until you are 21yo. Or, he passes away and him name you in a will, or you inherit absent a will.
    Last edited by knight0334; May 5th, 2014 at 08:51 AM.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Dauphin County)

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    If you father legitimately buys the gun as a gift, he wont be violating any laws.

For him to transfer it to you it must go through an FFL because of there being an interstate transfer.

HOWEVER, since you are not 21yo a FFL cannot legally transfer a handgun to you.