Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Westmoreland County)

Default Carry in Chicago?

I am a PA resident w/ a LTCF. I am spending alot of time in Chicago & will do so for the foreseeable future. I noticed that IL issues a non-resident CCW permit to residents of SC & HI, but not PA. I was wondering if there was any way for me to get a IL CCW permit. I can obtain an IL residence, but would assume that I would have to 'live there' for a couple of years before I could get a CCW permit.

So, the short question is, is there anything I could do so that I can carry in Chicago?

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: Carry in Chicago?

Unless you are either a resident of IL or have a permit from one of the approved states so that you can get an IL non-resident permit - you are crap out of luck for carrying on your person outside of your vehicle.

IL does honor all states' permits in a vehicle. But if you get out it has to be locked up in the vehicle(lockbox).
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Westmoreland County)

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    Unless you are either a resident of IL or have a permit from one of the approved states so that you can get an IL non-resident permit - you are crap out of luck for carrying on your person outside of your vehicle.

IL does honor all states' permits in a vehicle. But if you get out it has to be locked up in the vehicle(lockbox).
    That is actually good news. So If I understand you correctly, I can have a loaded gun inside the vehicle in IL. If I get out (as in go to the hotel for the night), I can take the pistol with me but it must be unloaded and in a lockbox.