Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Suppressors 9mm & 5.56 (7.62)

So, let me start by saying I am totally new to the silenced world.
    I just recently set up my NFA trust, and while I will be getting a sbr, I think it would be wiser to obtain the couple suppressors I want first.

I have been doing my digging in regard to different suppressors, but there are just so many out there. On top of that, just like anything else, there is no end to the contradicting opinions.

I was going to join that silencer talk forum, just to get some more specific opinions. However, they are racist against gmail and yahoo, so I was unable to register. HA. No, I will not be creating another email for the sole purpose of joining their forum.
    So I remembered I had an account here and I thought I could see if any of you have opinions or advice to offer me.

Let me tell you what I'm working with, and what I am planning.

I want to get 2 silencers, I think. 9mm and one for 5.56.
    I have heard that a lot of people use 7.62 cans on 5.56 and it works just as well. I certainly like the sound of that because then I can use it on 2 platforms. I also heard people do the same thing regarding other calibers (i.e. 45 can on 9mm.)

The main things I'm looking at in a suppressor:
    -sound reduction dry or wet (duh)(haven't hear enough to decide yet dry/wet)
    -weight/length (I don't want a brick on the end of my gun)
    -----Also being able to see my sights is pretty important to me
    -longevity (by this I mean also in regard to db reduction after multiple shots)
    -price (I really don't want to spend $1000 when people seem to think you can get a GOOD can for less)
    *thought I had more but I can't think right now, it's late. or, early.

Let's start with the pistol. I have a Beretta 92fs. This will be the host for the 9mm (or 45) suppressor.
    As I said before, there are just so many out there, it's hard to know where to start.