Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Ohio resident camping PA

Hello just signed up for forum. I have been lurking for a while. Some great info here! I have a question about bringing a firearm to PA. I have been renting a cabin every year in the Tionesta area for almost 20 yrs. I go there to fish/camp. I know I can bring a rifle/shotgun no problem but what if I want to bring my .357 revolver? I do not have a Ohio CCW and I don't want one. In PA law section 1606 it lists a vacation home as a legal exemption to allowing a firearm in your vehicle. Do I have to own the vacation home or is rental Ok for the exemption. In addition can an Ohio resident obtain a Sportsman Firearm permit? This way since I am going to a fishing area when camping I could legally bring the revolver with me regardless of vacation home exemption. Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Ohio resident camping PA

Just curious...why would you not want an OH CCW? With it you could get a PA LTCF easily on your next trip to PA.

(Jefferson County)

A rental camp would very well likely be considered a vacation or recreational home. ...so, you would be able to transport an unloaded and securely wrapped handgun from OH to the cabin, and from the cabin back directly to OH.

To get from the cabin to the fishing area(s) it would have to be either on foot openly if you don't have a license/permit. Or if you get a Sportsmans Permit you can carry in a vehicle openly or concealed(also concealed on foot while fishing). Yes, you can get a Sportsmans Permit if you have a PA Fishing License. You can apply at any county's treasurers office - just be sure to bring your PA fishing license with you.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Chester County)