Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Tumbling options

I've been reloading for 30+ yrs. and always used walnut media and polish. I usually don't fix things if they aren't broke but was wondering if there is anything better. I have seen some impressive results with SS pins and wet tumbling. Also has anyone used ceramic beads in a vibratory tumbler. Looking to possibly get the inside of the cases cleaner. What do you guys use/reccomend
    I have so many toys because my wife wont let me have a girlfriend.......

(Berks County)

Default Re: Tumbling options

Haven't used ceramic for brass, but I do use ss media in a small rotary tumbler from Harbor Freight. It works awesome, though there's more steps & therefore more hassle. I use walnut for everything off the range. Once it's to that base level & depending on how "nice" I want to do a batch, they might get decapped & put in the ss media or I might just reload as is. I have to say it sure gets the primer pockets & inside the case nice & clean. It's like new brass (cosmetically). For big batch 223/556, I size, swage, trim everything, then put it in the ss media. It gets all the case lube off & they can be stored 100% ready to go on the press.

All said & done, I'd recommend it. My set up with the ss pins & HF tumbler was under $100, so don't feel like you have to get one of the $300 packages to get good results.

(Montgomery County)

Quote Originally Posted by theunrulychef View Post