Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Testing the water.

The possibility of moving to Pennsylvania has come up. Currently I am in Arizona, and when we buy or sell a firearm, it's a personal sale and nothing is recorded. After some research it looks like for handgun purchasing, regardless of whether or not it's through a dealer, it's required to be FFL.

How difficult is this? I love handguns, and it wouldn't make me too happy if every time I bought/sold one I had to go to an FFL. :-( What are the average costs (if any)?

-------------------------------------------

I'll be coming into the state with a lot of guns. Do I need to "register" or have background checks due to the fact that I'm bringing in handguns?

Answered

I have my AZ CCW, and currently PA has written repricocity with AZ. If I'm a resident of PA, do I need to have my PA CCW or can I wait till my AZ CCW expires to get a PA CCW?

Answered

How difficult is it to get a PA CCW? I saw a written letter is required, but do people get turned down often? How long does the process take?

Thanks in advance! Look forward to the possibility of shootin with you guys.
    Last edited by weenis; May 28th, 2008 at 12:57 PM.

Default Re: Testing the water.

Quote Originally Posted by weenis View Post
    How difficult is it to get a PA CCW? I saw a written letter is required, but do people get turned down often? How long does the process take?
    Here in PA it is called a License To Carry Firearms, LTCF. Pretty easy to get one if you have a clean background. Go to sheriff in county you will be residing in. Fill out app, they run a PICS background check on you and if you pass the LTCF is issued. You will need 2 references. Some sheriffs will take ANY reference, others want it to be residents of their county.