Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: OAL

(Berks County)

Default OAL

I've been reloading for a few years, mostly just for deer hunting and related practicing. I've always stayed with the recommended OAL specs for each load. Now I want to go for a little more accuracy for target and varmint shooting. I know how to check for land distance. Other shooters gave bullet jump distance for specific loads,etc. My two questions are how much past reloading data lengths can you go (keeping about .035-.015 jump)? And what do you try first: jump distance tweaking or powder load tweaking? The stated "bullet seating=bullet diameter" doesn't even come out right with chart data. This is for a .270 with 90gr Sierra Varminters and 130gr Sierra boattail spitzers. I could just experiment but would like to hear from somebody who has actual knowledge on the subject.

(Cumberland County)

Default Re: OAL

I'm not sure about the actual jump/accuracy thing, but I can help with the OAL from an internal ballistics standpoint.

It's all about internal case volume. Since there is no direct way to measure the internal case volume, the OAL is used as an indirect measurement.

- shorter OAL = more of the bullet that is taking up internal case volume

- more volume taken up by the bullet = less volume for combustion gases

- too large of a powder charge for the available case volume = bad day at the range

Now, if you're not at the bottom end of the powder charge range, you can lengthen the OAL safely. You are increasing the internal case volume - giving the combustion gases more space to occupy. Lower pressures will result.

Soap Box - Worn out : Ballot Box - Broken : Jury Box - Pending : Ammunition Box - Unknown

(Somerset County)

In a large case like the 270, volume is not an issue like it is in small handgun cases. You mention deer hunting, that means your rounds must cycle through the magazine, that will most likely be the limiting factor.