Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default New to IDPA in Pittsburgh

I have been living in Pittsburgh for about a year now and I would like to get into IDPA shooting. I understand a few gun clubs around here host events but I'm not really sure how to register or what I need to do. I have been shooting for a few years but I have never done any competitive shooting. Any info or advice is appreciated.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: New to IDPA in Pittsburgh

I imagine it's pretty much the same everywhere. Just decide where you want to go for your first match. Then, get on their website and find out what dates they have matches. Most clubs seem to have one match per month and they usually have it on the same day, not date. For example, the third Saturday of each month. You also need to find out when the registration time is, which is usually about an hour before the match starts. It would be good to go early and help set up. The people that normally do this will appreciate this, plus you can get some good info about the matches, shooting, and equipment.

Make sure to bring at least 3 mags assuming you are shooting a semi-auto. Can't hurt to take 200 rounds of ammo even though you'll probably only shoot around 100. You will need a good strong-side holster, and it would be advantageous if you had at least a single mag pouch, preferably a dual mag pouch. You can get by without a mag pouch, but your reloads will probably be slow using your pockets. No big deal, since you will want to focus on hitting the targets your first time out.

Just pay attention to the Safety Officers, and listen closely to their directions especially after finishing a stage. Again, assuming you are shooting a semi-auto, you will need to keep the gun pointed down range, drop the mag, clear the chamber, then pull the trigger, then holster. Go slow, and have fun! Good luck!
    You can never have enough horsepower or ammunition.