Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Black powder gun purchases and NJ residents

I apologize if this is not the right forum for this. As a NJ resident I went to an establishment in Pa. and wanted to purchase a black powder, muzzle loading antique. The store owner informed me that I could not make that purchase unless I produced the NJ Firearms ID Purchasing card and filled out the NJ Certificate of Eligibility, a form very similar to the federal form for firearms transactions and required within NJ. He informed me that this was not simply store policy but a requirement of PA state law and federal law. I know any number of NJ friends who have purchased these muzzle loaders at Cabella's and Dixon's and no such requirement was apparently a part of the sale. It seems odd that Pa. would enforce NJ regulations on these purchases. So two questions. Does anybody know if this really is a Pa. law? or Federal law? I am very concerned about what would happen to the store's copy of the Certificate of Eligibility as some very personal, vital information is on that filled out form and I would have no idea where it winds up. Thanks

Default Re: Black powder gun purchases and NJ residents

AFAIK NJ residents need to meet whatever NJ requirements are in order to purchase any long gun in Pa.

A Pa resident 18 yo+ can just walk in and purchase a muzzleloader, and walk out without any paperwork.
    FUCK BIDEN

So why would some Pa. gun shops just let NJ residents buy and walk out the door and others claim it is Pa. or federal law that NJ residents must produce the card and fill out the NJ forms or no sale? There's something fishy going on. Is it a matter of law or not, and if one of law, just whose law is being enforced?

Nothing fishy, just ignorance.
    If the seller doesn't inquire who is to know?
    Long guns in Pa can be sold among residents at will, so many don't even think about it.
    I do find it hard to believe Cabela's doesn't ask for ID to confirm residency.