Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Selling on Gunbroker?

I'd like to sell a couple of handguns and am considering using a website such as Gunbroker. The problem is, I have no experience selling or buying on this type of site. As a matter of fact, all of my internet sales and buys have been completed with a FTF meeting at an FFL. Before I start listing handguns, what should I know? Are there things I need to look out for, tricks of the trade, etc? Is Gunbroker even the best one to sell on, or is there another that's better?

Thanks in advance to all.

Default Re: Selling on Gunbroker?

USPS money order. A must. Its a federal offense to screw with the postal service.

(Montgomery County)

I am sure guns are bought and sold there and elsewhere online. It is the follow up that gives me the jitters. The paper work, the shipping, the back and forth. It feels like you almost need a lawyer these days to buy and sell guns, especially out of state. I'd just do FTF and be done with it.

(Montgomery County)

I've never used an online arms marketplace. Been burned on eBay a few times.
    Have you considered consignment sales through a local shop?
    I went that route last year and walked away with more money than I had planned to ask.

(Montgomery County)

Yeah, its the back and forth and paperwork I am concerned about. Maybe I should look into consignment. Not quite sure how it works but I may as well investigate it before I post on an auction site. Thanks.

(Chester County)

I sold one on broker, not a big deal. My FFL mailed it to theirs after I received a USPS Money order. ALWAYS insist on the USPS money order and make sure it gets cashed, there are counterfeits out there.

Make sure you know how much your FFL/shipper wants to handle it before you list the price and shipping.

Best of luck.

PS, have you listed it here first?

Stone's throw from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    (Butler County)