Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default concealed carry for firefighters

after many hours of extensive research i have still yet to come to a complete yes or no answer on being able to carry on a call.

lets start off by saying that i am a volunteer firefighter and have been for the past 6 years. my question to everyone here is that is it illegal for me to concealed carry on a fire call if i have my ccwp and the bi-laws/sogs (standard operations guidelines) of my department have no "weapons policies "

any kind of information would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

(Franklin County)

Default Re: concealed carry for firefighters

It's not illegal (in that the commonwealth does give a shit if you carry or not)but your depart may have rules against it.

(Butler County)

would you happen to have the information to this? thier are certain people at my firehall saying that it is illegal and i would like to information to prove them wrong

(Delaware County)

I am also a volunteer firefighter in my local.

Unless everyone in your firehouse is either very much pro-gun or very much incompetent, you probably only lack SOGs/SOPs regarding the carrying of firearms because it hasn't come up or hasn't been a problem.

That having been said, what advantages would having a firearm while on a fire call give you? Where are you going to keep it in your 35 pounds of bunker gear where it will not only be safe from falling debris, a grab, or filling out, while still having it be easy to access and concealed? How will you protect it from the heat of a burning building while still keeping it in a place that's easy to draw? What if you get hurt at an accident scene and now they have to figure out what to do with your gun while transporting you to the hospital, and how does that stack up against the risk of being attacked while putting out a fire?