Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Some shotgun frustrations and some good times

I've delegated my 20 GA to deer shooting only so it's got the rifled barrel and the scope on it. My uncle gave me his 12 GA Mossberg 500 from the early 60's. I decided I would use that for hunting this year.

For the life of me I can't get used to it. I'm not sure what it is. I went out for Pheasant on the opener and we put up 14 birds. I hit 0. 3 days later I went out with a friend, he brought the dog, I brought my dog and I brought the gun. Put up 12 birds and I missed all 12.

FFWD to the opener of goose season. This is my first year goose hunting. Friend of mine got me into it.

I bring the 12 Ga again.. Thinking maybe this will work. One bird came in. BLAM! hit it and it drops... not dead and starts running.... BLAM... Miss..... Blam hit it and it's done. First goose ever... very happy and excited.

Here I am with my first goose after the hunt!

Sorry for the dark pictures, the pictures are taken after everything is all cleaned up and put away.

The following Tuesday we're out again. I miss every bird... again. While shooting I was fortunate enough to see where one of the shots went thanks to a low flying bird. Seems it was shooting way to the right and low. Not sure why but at least I can see where it's going now.

2 days later we're out again. Miss everything again. I'm just not comfortable with this damn thing.

I gave up on it. I feel bad because it's my uncles gun but I can't use it for whatever reason.

I swapped barrels on the 20 Ga and took that out the following day for some geese again. My buddy and I got two each. With deer season coming up and not wanting to keep swapping barrels on the 20 Ga (not to mention it's hard to find ammo for geese for a 20 gauge) I had to make a decision on the Mossberg.