Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: NICS vs PICS ??

(Montgomery County)

Default NICS vs PICS ??

I am a novice when it does to understanding PA gun laws. I was looking at the tie and saw that there is a chance to strike down PICS and go with the National Check system. I apologize for not knowing more, but what is the advantage of NICS over PICS? I usually fall on the side of smaller government and the train of thought that keeping things local is usually the best practice. I've had my problems with the flawed PICS system but I'm not sure the National system is better. Could someone please share some knowledge on this?

Thanks... I'm just working on becoming informed

FM

(Centre County)

Default Re: NICS vs PICS ??

Just go 12-13 post down from yours and you can get a lot of info.

HB 921 PICS elimination – saving Freedom, taxpayer monies & reducing size of governme ( 1 2 3 ... Last Page)
    Ron USAF Ret E-8 FFL01/SOT3 NRA Benefactor Member

(Jefferson County)

Quote Originally Posted by Firemedic1974 View Post
    I am a novice when it does to understanding PA gun laws. I was looking at the tie and saw that there is a chance to strike down PICS and go with the National Check system. I apologize for not knowing more, but what is the advantage of NICS over PICS? I usually fall on the side of smaller government and the train of thought that keeping things local is usually the best practice. I've had my problems with the flawed PICS system but I'm not sure the National system is better. Could someone please share some knowledge on this?

Thanks... I'm just working on becoming informed

FM
    NICS pros:
    1. less down time
    2. e-check if the phone system is down
    3. no fee/surtax to use the system
    4. a means to get flag's cleared that actually works
    5. e-submittable challenges
    6. longer hours of operation

NICS cons:
    1. a much longer appeal/challenge time period(2-3 months isn't uncommon, where as 2-4 weeks for PICS is typical)