Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Schuylkill County)

Smile Recommended RCBS Reloading Dies

Need some help from you seasoned reloaders out there.

I purchased an RCBS Rock Chucker Supreme reloading kit a few months back. Been methodically reading everything I possibly can on reloading and all things related. But because I'm new to this, I haven't purchased the final pieces of the puzzle, the reloading dies. Kind of afraid to buy the wrong ones. (I know, grow a pair, right?)

I will need to reload .223/5.56, .308/7.62 NATO, .30-30, .30-06, 9mm, .45 ACP, and .380 ACP.

I've read many posts on multiple forums where guys mention using Short base, Full length, etc. so I have been hesitant in putting my foot down and buying them.
    Can anyone give me the proper list of what dies I would need to buy to reload these calibers in any situation? I would rather have them laying around and available than not having them when I need them.

Your input would be GREATLY appreciated.
    Thanks!

(Westmoreland County)

Default Re: Recommended RCBS Reloading Dies

Just starting out I would just go with standard full length sizing rifle dies. You may or may not need small base dies if shooting an AR or M1A, chances are you will do fine with the Full length dies. Neck dies are not recommended for semi, lever or pump action guns. standard carbide pistol dies of most any brand will be fine. You can save some money if you buy Lee dies. Personally I don’t like Lee dies, I load a lot of cast bullets and Lyman or RCBS just work better for me.

(Washington County)

For the pistol calibers get carbide dies. You won't have to lube.

For 5.56 I have the rcbs short base dies and they work nicely.

You have the same press as I do, and I think it's great. Good luck and work your loads up slowly. Remember to watch your overall length as pressures will increase.
    FOAC Member, NRA Member

(Luzerne County)