Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Long range hand gunning

I have recently joined an outdoor range and for the first time I have access to 50 and 100 yards. I own a 1963 4" python that I'm gonna take with me for my next trip. My front sight is well worn from holster wear and gets lost easily so I decided to paint it with white nail polish and then a coat of orange, if that doesn't work then ill get a replacement.

My question is what kind of groups are you guys achieving? I was able to hit a 4" steel spinner at the 50 yard line with my ruger .22 pistol offhand standing but only about 25-30% of the time, since this is my first time having access to these distances I'm sure many of you are much better at it than myself.

Will .38 be a substantial difference from .357 magnum? I assume the mag has a flatter trajectory and I'll be using the Keith method of raising the front sight from the rear sight and placing the target on top of the front. Any tips for me? Thanks!
    Go head, skin it. Skin that smoke wagon and see what happens.

(Franklin County)

Default Re: Long range hand gunning

I can consistantly (every once in a while I'll drop one) put holes in an 8" circle at 50 yards with my Heritage Rough Rider 22LR and I don't spend much time at the range, so that gives you an idea where you're at. You need a bigger target so you can tell where you're putting them.
    As for 38 verses 357. I think you'll find the 38 is easier to shoot, which usually translates to more accurate. At 50 yards you won't see a significant difference in drop between the two, at 100 yards you're going to have to compensate for some drop whether you shoot 38 or 357 so just stick with the 38. You're also going to need a bigger target at 100 yards with a 4" barrel shooting off hand.

(Jefferson County)

If I can see it, I can hit it.. lol